Skip to Main Content


DIET 14 Dynamics, Interactions and Electronic Transitions at Surfaces

October 13 - 17, 2014
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Pacific Grove, CA 93950

Registration and Lodging Deadline Extended!

Abstract Submission Deadline: August 15, 2014

DIET 14 provides a forum for the dissemination and discussion of new research exploring dynamical processes at surfaces and interfaces. The conference will include a mix of invited and contributed talks in a single-session format that provides an ideal atmosphere for lively discussions. Research themes include:

  • ultrafast electron transfer at surfaces and interfaces
  • atomic manipulation in the STM via electronic injection/excitation
  • quantum and spatially resolved mapping of surface dynamics and desorption
  • photochemistry & photon-, electron- and ion-beam induced processes at interfaces
  • vibrational dynamics at surfaces and interfaces
  • the role of non-thermal desorption in astrochemistry and astrophysics
  • atomic and molecular scattering from surfaces
  • spectroscopy and theory of non-adiabatic surface processes
  • non-adiabatic surface chemical reactions

The workshop will be held at the Asilomar Conference Grounds located on scenic Monterey Bay. Asilomar is easily accessible from 3 international airports, San Jose, San Francisco, and Oakland, CA. Check-in and an evening welcome reception will be on Monday, October 13, and the workshop closes at noon on Friday, October 17.

Invited Speakers

  • Gabor Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Charlie Campbell,  University of Washington, USA
  • Hrvoje Petek, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • Ralph Ernstorfer, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Germany
  • Bill Gadzuk, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
  • Jean-Pierre Gauyacq, Université Paris-Sud, France
  • Kunie Ishioka, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
  • Tadahiro Komeda, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Dietrich Menzel, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Gil Nathanson, University of Wisconsin, USA
  • Karin Oberg, Harvard University, USA
  • Markus Raschke, University of Colorado – Boulder, USA
  • Charlie Sykes, Tufts University, USA
  • Bing Wang, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Christof Wöll, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Suljo Linic, University of Michigan, USA

International Steering Committee

  • Zhenchao Dong, University of Science and Technology, China
  • Gérald Dujardin,  University of Paris Sud, France
  • Maki Kawai, University of Tokoyo, Japan
  • Greg Kimmel, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Dietrich Menzel, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Thomas Orlando, Georgia Institute of Technoloby, USA
  • Richard Palmer, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Katharina Al-Shamery, University of Oldenburg, Germany

Local Organizing Committee

Greg Kimmel
Phone: 509-371-6134

Wayne Hess

Conference Administrator

Diane Stephens
Phone: 509-371-6147


nEXO Collaboration Meeting

10-14 December, 2017


Low Radioactivity Underground Argon Workshop

19-20 March, 2018



19-22 June, 2018